Bookmark & Share  

Boards and Commissions


Township Board

The Charter Township of Oscoda is governed by a Board of Trustees.
To view  the Township Board members and contact information, please click here.

Aaron Weed, Supervisor
Jaimie McGuire, Treasurer
John Nordeen, Clerk
Timothy Cummings, Trustee
Martin Gayeski, Trustee
Jim Baier, Trustee, Trustee
William Palmer, Trustee 

Charter Township of Oscoda Meeting Schedule 2020

Planning Commission


The Planning Commission consists of seven members appointed by the Township Board. The Commission serves in both an advisory and administrative role for matters relating to land use and development. The Planning Commission prepares the Township's Master Plan and makes recommendations on proposed public improvements based on the Plan. The Commission hears and acts upon Special Land Use permits and Site Plan applications and makes recommendations on amendments to the Zoning Ordinance text or map, Subdivisions and Planned Unit Developments.

The Planning Commission meets on the first Monday of each month at 7:00 p.m. temporarily at the Robert J. Parks Library. Current members of the Commission are:

Dan Gary, Chairperson
Robert Tasior, Vice Chairperson
Mimi McDonald   
Ed Davis
Bernie Schenk
Bill Palmer
Cathy Wusterbarth

For more information, please contact the Zoning Administrator at or (989) 569-6580.

Economic Improvement Committee


The EIC consists of an 5 member board of merchants, community members and one resident appointed by the Township Supervisor for staggered 4 year terms whose members are as follows:

Todd Dickerson, Economic Improvement Director

Mark Wygant Jr., Chairperson
Dave Iler, Vice Chairperson
Rosemary Nentwig, Secretary
Martin Gayeski 
Robert Tasior
Tony Johnson, Alternate



Zoning Board of Appeals


The Zoning Board of Appeals consists of five members appointed by the Township Board. The ZBA serves as a quasi-judicial body which hears and decides matters relating to the application of the Zoning Ordinance including a variance from an Ordinance standard, an appealof a Zoning Administrator's decision or an interpretation of an Ordinance provision.

The Zoning Board of Appeals meets on the third Monday of each month as necessary at 7:00 p.m. and held temporarily at Robert J. Parks library. Current members of the ZBA are:

Irene Dunn, Chairperson
JoAn Nink, Vice Chairperson
James Biggar
Greg Schulz
Catherine Larive
For more information, please contact the Zoning Administrator at or (989) 569-6580.

Board of Review


Board of Review

The Oscoda Township Board of Review consists of three electors appointed by the Township Board for two year terms which expire on odd numbered years. The current board members are:

John Servinsky 
Elizabeth Swales
David Gottleber
The Board begins its meetings in March on Tuesday following the first Monday. The purpose of this organizational meeting is to review the current assessment roll in order to determine if all taxable property has been properly assessed and to correct errors. The Board also meets on Tuesday, Thursday and Saturday of the following week to hear appeals from property owners or their agents regarding the assessed and taxable values and property classifications established by the assessor. Letters of protest may also be submitted to the Board for review however these letters must be received prior to the Saturday meeting. The Board of Review may adjust individual assessments as it sees necessary.

The Board of Review may also meet in July and December, for dates and times please call the assessorís office. At these meetings the Board can grant Principle Residence Exemptions that were not on the Tax Roll for the current or three previous years, the board also addresses correction of clerical errors or mutual mistakes of fact.

Hardship or Poverty Exemptions are handled by the Board of Review at the March, July and December meetings. Applications for these exemptions must be obtained from the assessorís office in advance and returned no later than the day before the meeting.

For more information, please contact the Assessor at (989)739-7071.

In accordance with Federal law and U.S. Department of Agriculture policy, this institution is prohibited from discriminating on the basis of race, color, national origin, age, disability, religion, sex, familial status, sexual orientation, and reprisal.  (Not all prohibited bases apply to all programs).

To file a complaint of discrimination, write to: USDA, Assistant Secretary for Civil Rights, Office of the Assistant Secretary for Civil Rights, 1400 Independence Avenue, S.W., Stop 9410, Washington, DC 20250-9410. Or call toll-free at (866) 632-9992 (English) or (800) 877-8339 (TDD) or (866) 377-8642 (English Federal-relay) or (800) 845-6136 (Spanish Federal-relay). USDA is an equal opportunity provider and employer.

 © 2011 - 2020   Oscoda Township Design by: New Moon Visions Brand Development and Marketing ~ Site by: AccuNet Web Service